Top Ten Tuesday.

image

Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted  by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is Top Ten Popular Authors I’ve Never Read.

I love reading these  lists on all the blogs every week and this particular Tuesday has been less than awesome thus far…. so I decided it would be a great day to test drive my first ever Top Ten Tuesday post.

Ok here goes…..

John Green: The Fault in Our Stars. This one is on my list. It is…it’s actually ON my kindle…I WANT to read it…But I just haven’t. I’ve heard this book is beautiful, intelligent and heartbreaking, and if I don’t read it soon my sister might disown me… But I am a weeeee bit of a wimp sometimes.  I know It’s going to make me cry so it just keeps getting pushed aside in favor of all those dystopian save the world escapist books I love.

E.L James: Fifty Shades of Anything. Yep. I haven’t read it and I probably won’t. This is me being a bit of a book snob here…But I sorta judge all the women out there who have ONLY read these books recently …I read all kinds of trashy fluff books so I’m not judging the content…Just the fact that lot’s of people I know read one series in the last two years and it was this one…Ugh.

Markus Zusak: The Book Thief. Again, this is a book that I’ve heard is beautiful and life changing and I have one or two family members who might not invite me for holidays anymore if I don’t read it sometime soon.

Robert Heinlein: Glory Road and a million other things. Ok maybe my family is a little maniac when it comes to books and authors but this is an author I need to read if I want to keep the peace at Thanksgiving dinner not to mention the rights to my Science Fiction Fan girl  card. Actually…I HAVE read Podakayne of Mars but it was years ago and the guy wrote 32 books and 59 short stories so that doesn’t really count. What can I say I’ve always been more of an Isaac Asimov girl…

Judy Blume: I KNOW…How did I survive adolescence without reading a single Judy Blume book??? I don’t know, but I totally did. I always preferred dragons and magic and her books seemed sadly lacking in both.

J.D Salinger: Catcher in the Rye. I have a whole list of classics that I really, really need to read…. this is just the one I feel most guilty about recently.

Niel Gaiman: I am certain I will love his books… Someday… When I finally pick one up. I honestly can’t believe I haven’t!!! They are pretty much right up my alley.

Isabel Wilkerson: The Warmth of Other Suns. This is another one that’s living on my kindle that I keep intending to read. I guess I just haven’t been in the mood for anything quite this serious lately…. I might be as bad as those fifty shades ladies I’m judging.

Greg Mortenson: Three Cups of Tea. Why are there three copies of this book on my shelf??? I’m honestly not sure. Wasn’t there a controversy about this one?? Oh we’ll…. I don’t actually feel overly guilty about not reading it.

Richelle Mead: Vampire Academy. This is just on this list to prove that I haven’t read every single trashy vampire book ever written… Although I did see the movie and it was much funnier than I expected so I’ll probably end up reading these someday;)

Well there you have it… My Tuesday seems better already!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday.

  1. YAY!!! I’m not the only one who hasn’t read John Green 😀 Phew… I was getting scared there.

    Ooh, Judy Blume! I’ve read a few of her books, and they were really great. I actually haven’t read her books in a long while…

    That’s funny you mention J.D. Salinger—I’m about sixty pages into The Catcher in the Rye right now! It’s alright, and I was just talking to someone today who had never read it. I hadn’t, either, but I was curious…

    My experiences with Richelle Mead’s books have been AWESOME! I really love them. I think I’ve read four so far. But they are really funny and I love the characters. I hope you do get a chance to read them!

    • lilajune says:

      Haha No I saw a lot of John Green on these lists, I think maybe some of us who lean towards fantasy are hesitant about real life heartbreak. (maybe that’s just me)
      I MUST read Catcher in the Rye someday…It’s probably free or pretty cheap on Kindle. And I’d feel a lot better about myself!
      The Vampire Academy movie was SO much more entertaining than I expected, and I almost downloaded the first book as soon as I got home…I was trying to avoid it because there was a certain fiasco over the summer where I read all 12 TVD books in about two weeks and barely slept even though they got increasingly terrible…. Sometimes that sort of thing happens to me.

  2. Anne says:

    It’s a good TTT topic to start off with! Neil Gaiman is a good one — I know I would like his books and I haven’t read any yet either.

    • lilajune says:

      It was fun. I think I was actually reading your list when I decided to give it a go. So thanks for the inspiring post 🙂

      Neil Gaiman has got to be the next author on my TBR shelf. When I was writing this thing I really couldn’t believe I hadn’t read anything by him!

      • Anne says:

        Oh, that’s awesome! I look forward to seeing your future posts! And I’m with on NG, I just don’t know which one I want to read first…

Leave a Reply

