Top Ten Tuesday. Beach Bag Books.

beach_books(2)

Why hello there Top Ten Tuesday!!! I haven’t seen you in a minute! (I was informed last night that if you say that in Memphis is means ‘Its been a while’ or ‘You sucked at blogging last month’... Maybe not exactly). Anyway this week on TTT (Which is a weekly meme hosted by the ladies over at The Broke and the Bookish) it’s time to break out that beach bag and do what any self respecting book-a-holic would do, ie: pack it FULL of books and forget the sunscreen/water/beach towel etc. you know, the non-essentials.

So, I don’t know about you but when I think of beach books I tend to think of things a little on the ‘lighter side’ (ok… I think of straight up trash a’la 50 shades of grey but I don’t read read much of the pure romance stuff) so I’m gonna pull from my ‘not so dark and dreary’ shelf. Although, quite frankly I grew up in a beach town and we spent more time on the beach at night (because crispy tourists who brought all their books but forgot the sunscreen are actually kinda grumpy) so I think it’s reasonable if some of these are more like ‘Midnight on the Beach’ books right?!

What I recommend for your beach bag? (other than sunscreen)

Under the Never Sky: Veronica Rossi

Under the Never Sky

I really enjoyed every book in this series which includes:  Under the Never Sky, Through the Ever Night and Into the Still Blue. While it DOES take place in a sort-of post-apocolyptic dystopia there is a certain Science Fantasy with a dash of romance (Ok not a “dash” there’s a lot of romance and that was my secret favorite part of the book) that makes it a perfect beachy read. Oh, and Roar. OMG Roar… *Swoon* This thing belongs on your summer list because of Roar alone. The end.

Guardian: Alex London. 

18289483

I just finished this one last Thursday. Coincidentally I also started it on Thursday, which is a part of what makes it a great beach read. (although best to be bringing that sunscreen because it’s very difficult to put down and you may not notice you’ve begun to blister.) Guardian for all it’s seriousness and intensity was also a pretty heart-melting love story which somehow makes it just the teeniest tiniest bit “lighter” than it’s predecessor Proxy. BTW did you read Proxy? If NOT you SHOULD!!! it’s also AH-mazing.

The False Prince: Jennifer Nielsen

image

What I actually mean by The False Prince is The Ascendance Series which includes The Runaway King and The Shadow Throne. (yeah I know this list of 5 is already up to 8). Anyway, these are pure fantasy and they’re smart, fast reads with great characters and a fantastic story. I had so much fun with this series (which isn’t something I say a lot) which  makes it truly perfect reading for a hot summer day. (preferably with a bottle of Summer Shandy Mmmmmmmmm)

The Beekeepers Apprentice:

81r5MSLlr9L

OK… so I’ve done the “romance” here’s the “mystery” because you’ve got to have  a  mystery in your beach bag, it’s like, pretty much a law. This one is FANTASTIC because it’s a freaking brilliant and unique take on Sherlock Holmes, or more specifically his “retirement” with his whip smart apprentice Mary Russell. Guys, I love this series. It’s a mystery series sure, but it’s definitely not fluff… If you’re a Sherlock fan (but maybe not a purist) you should read it.

Daughter of the Forest: Juliet Marillier

Daughter-of-the-forest

I love fairy tales retold and celtic mythology and Daughter of the Forest has both. It also has SO MUCH family love (okokok and romance too…this IS my beach list!). This one definitely captured my imagination and stole my heart (it’s also part of a rathar long series but fortunatly it stands alone as well).

What’s in my beach bag. (Probably not sunscreen because even though I’m a FL native I forgot.)

Hands of Forest and Teeth: Carrie Ryan

the-forest-of-hands-teeth-by-carrie-ryan-book-cover-rob-jan-zero-g-3rrr-fm

The premis of this one just seems awesome. I mean,  YA? Zombies? What’s not to love?? Plus I’ve got to admit the title is pretty fantastic. Hey BTW has anyone actually READ this book? I know almost zippo about it but it’s peaked my interest… so you know…if you’ve read it I’d love to know what you thought!

The Demon King: Cinda Williams Chima

demon-king

I don’t know much about this series except that it was recommended to me by Tina over at The Book Landers and I’ve enjoyed everything else she’s tossed on my TBR pile.

A Discovery of Witches: Deborah Harkens

8667848

Speaking of recommendations, I read this review over at Wine Goes Best with a Good Book last week and for whatever reason felt compelled to download A Discovery of Witches immediately to my Ipad. I’m not completely sure why but it seemed like an entertaining change of pace from what I’ve been reading lately.

The Fault in our Stars: John Green 

The_Fault_in_Our_Stars

Geez, I know, I know… I might be one of the last YA readers out there who hasn’t read this book. I’ve heard it’s amazing, gorgeous, thoughtful, funny and oh yeah… heartbreaking. I think it’s that last one that gets me… I love to think when I read but I don’t always love collapsing in a LilaJune puddle on the floor. Sometimes real feelings are terrifying. Anyway, I plan to bite the bullet and face this one (Hell, if the Tris girl could be Dauntless enough to play Hazel I can be Dauntless enough to read about it!).

The Queen’s Thief: Megan Whalen Turner

image

This is another recommendation from a fellow blogger  over at The Book Case Diaries (FYI you guys are drowning me in a bottomless well of TBR awesomeness). And I’ve heard it’s amazing… Like A.M.A.Z.I.N.G I don’t know about you but when I hear/read a fellow booklover speak so passionately about a particular book (the way I might about The Legend series or Harry Potter) it’s nearly impossible for me NOT to give it a go!

OkeeDokee so that’s my list! (Although mine definitely leans in a midnight at the beach direction) Anything in it you absolutely loved, or think I should avoid?  What was on yours? Oh and hey, if you’re in the mood for more recs check out my bloggy buddy’s list!

 

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday. Beach Bag Books.

  1. Good list! There are several books on this list that I want to read.. Proxy (i.e. Guardian), Under the Never Sky (I still can’t believe I haven’t read this yet), and The Beekeeper’s Apprentice (I’ve never heard of it before, but it sounds excellent).

    • lilajune says:

      Oh you MUST read Proxy!! Must must must… It’s one of the best books I’ve read all year! (And then of course go read Guardian 🙂 )
      Under the Never Sky is also pretty lovely and Through the Ever Night defied ‘sequel syndrome’ and was actually my favorite in the series. They are absolutely perfect summer reads!
      The Beekeepers Aprentice isn’t strictly YA but the whole series is phenomenal!
      Happy summer reading!!

  2. hellphie says:

    I’ve read The Forest of Hands and Teeth – and I totally picked it up because of the title. It’s actually the first in a trilogy. I am not a fan of zombie books, but I liked this one. It takes place in a very old world society with no technology. It’s been a few years, so I don’t remember the details, but it’s worth a read.

    • lilajune says:

      Excellent!!! Thank you so much for letting me know what you thought! I actually do like Zombies…by ‘like’ I mean ‘am totally terrified but sadistically fascinated by them’ so it’s right up my ally!
      It’s good to know that even a non-zombie aficionado enjoyed it (and not just because of the kickass title!)

  3. tpolen says:

    Have Into the Still Blue in my TBR pile and am a HUGE fan of A Discovery of Witches trilogy – impatient’y waiting for the 3rd book this summer. Will have to check out Proxy.

    • lilajune says:

      Ooohhh I;m glad to know you enjoyed A Discover of Witches!! I haven’t started that one yet but I’m pretty excited about it 🙂 Into the Still Blue is a great one for a bit of adventure and escapism (I enjoyed them SO much more than I imagined) But Proxy…? *Sigh* Proxy is just kinda perfection. I’d call it a “must” read. 🙂

  4. Anne says:

    I was thinking about Under the Never Sky because it seemed to take place in summer, in my mind at least, but I didn’t have any quotes to use! I also need to read Daugther of the Forest. It sounds right up my alley, I just haven’t made time for it yet. 😦

    • lilajune says:

      Under the Never Sky was Summer in my head too (possibly because of all the shirtless Perry??). I can’t think of any quotes either, but I suspect the best one’s were Roar’s.
      Daughter of the Forest is lovely! I totally understand the never-ending TBR but I would definitely recommend this one for next time you really want a “grown up” fairytale 🙂

  5. Caroline S. says:

    Great list as always. I’ve read a handful but you have peaked my interest in others, I already have such a long “to be read” list though! And thanks for the link!

    • lilajune says:

      Oh I hear you when it comes to the TBR!!! Lord have mercy on my soul that thing is LONG (but SO pretty… it’s pretty much like a siren )
      Happy to link!! you know I love your blog! 🙂

  6. What an astounding list! Guardian as romance, TFP for adventure, and all those other books. I already have Under The Never Sky and Demon King on my (six feet tall and growing) TBR list, but The Queen’s Thief and Forest of Hands and Teeth pique my interest too (another buddy read session sometime?)

    Night reading sessions on the beach sound fun — risk of getting swept away (literally) and all. Gotta try that one for my next beach holiday (when it comes!)

  7. My mom’s been trying to get me to read Daughter of the Forest forever! I’m really interested in Celtic mythology, but I don’t read like any fantasy at all. I always kind of consider it to be dense, so I didn’t expect to see this book on a beach read list! Maybe I’ll check it out this summer.

  8. lilajune says:

    I’d say Daughter if the Forest is a relatively ‘light’ read… And I you like Celtic mythology I think the whole Sevenwaters Series might be right up your alley!! Fantasy can be sense (I’m looking at you LOTR!!) but there are a lot of dark fairy tale type gems in the genre if you give it a chane 🙂 (p.s I have tons of recs if you’re looking for a list 😉 )

Leave a Reply

