Top Ten Tuesday. Confessions of a terrible blogger and book nerd.

image

Top Ten Tuesday is my favorite (and only) weekly meme hosted by the beautiful bloggers over at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is Top Ten Blogging confessions. Even though I was raised as a good little Lutheran girl theres nothing I like more than a good old fashioned confession!!! So without further adu ima bust out my forbidden rosary and dive on in.

Blog Confessions

Confession #1: I love this topic because I didn’t have to go hunting all over the internet for book covers. Seriously, that stuff takes me something like eternity and I STILL never manage to make them look good in my lists.

Confession #2: I am jealous of all the blogs I follow/read regularly because they all make these listy things look gorgeous…always. I’m not kidding. If you are a blogger and we have had any sort of interaction I am probably all swoony and green with envy over your lovely blog. I’m sorry!! I mean that very nicely I swear!

Confession #3: I’m too gosh darned lazy to do anything about it! “Gee… I wonder how people make those pretty book cover collages or change the size & color of their font?? Hmm, I suppose I could google it? Nah!! I’ll just stick with what I’ve got…” Yep, thats me.

Confession #4: I’m a TERRIBLE book “reviewer”. I know this. Sometimes I even feel bad about it because I like reading other bloggers legit book reviews. But the truth is, I’d much rather have a long rambley discussion about the things a book made me think about than it’s plot. I know this is probably only entertaining if you’ve read the book I’m talking about so I’ve been working on trying to find a happy medium. Let me know if you have any thoughts or suggestions!!!!

Confession #5: I have no schedule. Ever. In my head I’d like to do one review/discussion and TTT every week….. that just doesn’t happen. Actually, the more I try to be organized the more likely I am to fall off the bloggy wagon all together. But I’ve decided to forgive myself and let it go. I’m about to start medical school at the end of this month and I truly have no idea what that will mean for my reading life. So I’ll consider it a blessing when I have a chance to read a few good books and blog about them. I hope you’ll forgive me if I disappear for a bit while I figure out how to not fail out of med school! 🙂

 

Book Nerd Confessions

Confession #1: I re-read CONSTANTLY. So, so, so, sooooooo much re-reading goes on in my life. If every book I read was a book I had never read before I would be like a freaking literary genius or something. As it is, I definitely have a comfort zone.  Once a book has fallen into my hands and proved itself awesome chances are I’ll revisit it at least once…or twice…or once a year for the past 15 years  as has been the case with Harry Potter. Sometimes I feel guilty about this habit… So MANY lovely books and SO little time. But.. much like blogging at the end of the day, reading is something I do for me and the joy I get from diving into a well loved world is worth the guilt.

Confession #2: I collect books… Who doesn’t right?? Well, here’s the thing…I tend to “accidentally” collect multiple copies and editions of the same book. I mean obviously if you happen to be an obsessive re-reader you need to have your favorite books in Kindle AND hardcover but you probably don’t need the hardcover AND paperback editions… BUT I DO!!!! I NEED them. I need all the books (in triplicate). I’m well aware that this isn’t a particularly fiscally responsible habit… But HEY I’m supporting authors right?? In my defense I also give books away whenever I know I have someone’s soulmate book on my shelf.

Confession #3: Even though I collect books I’m not remotely organized about it. We have four floor to ceiling bookshelves in our house and the books on them are not in any particular order. The only exception is that most of the series books I have are all together.. oh, and the Harry Potter shelf… cuz I HAD to have a Harry Potter shelf. Also, a lot of my books are in a sorry state (due to all that re-reading) I know that’s like sacrilege to some book people *hangs head in shame*.

Confession#4: I have become a bit addicted to the book community on Twitter. Ick!! I kinda hate Twitter but alas it’s sucked away a bit of my soul. In many, many ways it’s actually a great place to follow other blogs and read interesting articles but sometimes the “drama” (like that one article) sucks me in. I hate that. I’m too old for that junk! The other ugly thing about social media is that sometimes authors you have/had great respect for disappoint you. I know it’s not fair but I want my favorite authors to be just as wise as the beautiful characters they create… So if they’re whining about the person who sat next to them at Starbucks (seriously, text your BFF about that shit) or saying accidentally ignorant things about readers I’m not super impressed… Like I said, I KNOW that’s not fair but I’m just as human as they are.

Confession #5: I am secretly terrified that I will actually fail out of school because of my book addiction. I’m fairly certain this won’t happen but I’m not entirely joking either…

 

So there you have it!!! Confession over. Time to go say a few hail Mary’s and pray for my bookish soul!

What was on your list this week?? Feel free to leave me your link so I can check it out! From what I’ve seen so far Blog guilt seems to be a thing.

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday. Confessions of a terrible blogger and book nerd.

  1. Caroline S. says:

    If it makes you feel any better, all those people who have the little side bars that monitor their word count for their works in progress – I want one but cannot figure out how to get it and I am way too embarrassed to ask them in a comment on their blogs. So I understand a bit of your blog envy!

    • lilajune says:

      Hahaha it totally does!! Thanks!! Sometimes I feel like the most tech challenged person ever. It’s good to know that even if I’m the worst there are other bloggers out there who have tech questions! 🙂

  2. Brin Guivera says:

    I’m quite tech challenged myself! I’m not too bad with the graphic side (thanks to PicMonkey!!) but I know squat about coding and have to look up ‘how to’ videos on YouTube if I want to figure something out! LOL 😉

  3. I’m totally jealous of a bunch of the bloggers I follow because their blogs look so amazing and mine looks so plain and I can never decide on a theme… le sigh. Bloggy problems xD I am kind of interested in making those book cover collages with the cool fonts and stuff. Probably something that can be done on Polyvore or with a photo app… lazy is my middle name, haha.

    I’ve also had that same problem about keeping a blog schedule, and found that when I tried to have one, it got a bit… stressful? Lol, now I just go with the flow 😀

    Awesome post! I laughed a lot and I feel like it’s been forever since I’ve read your blog!!

  4. lilajune says:

    Aww thanks for reading! I’m glad I made you laugh a bit!! I have been such a terrible blogger lately I woulda be surprised if I just haven’t been around. I’m not a great at multitasking so it’s tough to be a good reviewer if I’m reading like a mad woman. ( I’ve read some amazing books lately though so I’m really excited to talk about them 🙂 )
    I love your blog btw!! I think it’s very attractive and always entertaining! (Congrats on reaching 300 readers btw! WOW!!!! I’m very excited for you!)

  5. Mei-Mei says:

    I, too, struggle with writing a proper review when I just want to ramble about thoughts I had while reading a book…Sometimes I just write a brief review at the beginning of a post, and then go into spoiler-y analysis stuff (after a warning). Or sometimes I just do analysis if I feel like lots of people have already read the book.

    And I also re-read like crazy. I pretty much only buy books that I know I will re-read. Just last night I stayed up too late re-reading The Blue Sword, just because i was in the mood for it 🙂

  6. I love for confession #1 (re: blogging). It’s such a tedious endeavour to get those images and then proceed to format them into a post. Ugh.

    I don’t want to stir the pot, but I’m kind of interested in this drama that you speak of (yes, I enjoy drama when drama is not happening to me–but don’t we all? No? Damn.) So maybe if you’d like to DM me that info on twitter (@afterthoughtAn), I’d be a happy camper LOL. (Assuming that it’s blogging community related?)

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

    • lilajune says:

      Hahaha while there seems to be PLENTY if drama over on Twitter (I see authors up in arms about something daily or slamming words readers/reviewers/publicists overuse like ‘swoon’… Something I am totally guilty of) the article I was referring to was pretty well known and not that interesting… It was that Slate article about why adults (like me) should be ashamed to read YA. I totally let that one get to me and ended up writing an impassioned blog about it.. (I’d leave you a link to check it out but I’m too tech challenged to do that on my phone 😉 )
      I’ll go find you on twitter though.. If I have any interesting gossip to share in the future 😉

      • Oh, “That” article is something that seems to always keep coming up. I just don’t get why people don’t just live by the simple concept of you like what you like–why blow it up. Oh…my tone was about to get ranty. I will stop myself here.

  7. I end up ‘collecting’ books too, the reading of them becomes a side issue at times, I really need to read whats in front of me!

Leave a Reply

