Top Ten Tuesday. Non-bookish entertainment.

image

Aggggggggghhhhhhhhhh!!!!! I don’t think I like this one!!! For some reason I have no problem whatsoever confessing all my bookish obsessions to anyone who will listen, but TV shows make me want to hide my head under a rock in shame. Anyway, I’ve resolved to do TTT regularly while I still can SO here we go!!

This week on Top Ten Tuesday (that most excellent meme hosted by the most amazing bloggers over at The Broke and the Bookish) the theme is Top Ten favorite movies or TV shows. *Sigh* When I was little, my mother didn’t allow us to watch TV (except for the news because our father worked in news…. I actually think this contributed to my firm belief that at least 50% of all children got kidnapped at some point but that’s besides the point.)  At some moment in time however, I did become obsessed with a few forms of entertainment other that books. The following list represents my current favorites.

 

dead

The Walking Dead: Dear Everyone, It may suprise you to know that I actually hate zombies. Hate, hate, hate , hate them. Gah!!! For years and years they stalked my nightmares threatening to overwhelm my life with their cannibalistic plague. Truth be told, they still do. But once I started dating the guy I now refer to as my husband I had to grow a thicker skin and deal with zombies because he LOVES them. But I generally did so by hiding my head in my hands and screaming I HATE ZOMBIES I HATE ZOMBIES I HATE ZOMBIES every time some zombie came on screen and started eating someone (Ok, I might still do this but I do it with more excitement and less fear these days.) Then one day along came The Walking Dead with all its amazing character development and world building and suddenly I wasn’t just tolerating zombies, I was hooked. This might actually be my favorite show these days. Even if it still terrifies me sometimes.

what-should-hbo-do

Game of Thrones: I loved the books. I love the show. Nuff said. Except its ME and I just have to say a little more…. This is one of those rare show/movie/book conversion thingys  where I almost prefer the show.. “WHAT!? SACRILEGE!!!” You cry. “But LilaJune, we’re BOOK people!” I know, I know… But for whatever reason I felt like the show (or the actors) gave life to some of the characters and story-lines I didn’t much care about when I was reading the series. Also, the series is visually STUNNING. Also, I want to BE The Khaleesi.

гифки-безумие-Игра-престолов-сериалы-1158592

Hannibal: Though I haven’t seen this season at all. I think my husband, who LOVES scary stories, is actually too creeped out by this show. Mwahahahahahaha. Hopefully I’ll catch up soonish, I heard this season was… heart stopping. (Too much? yeah, sorry, sometimes I think I’m clever.)

Vampire-diaries-season-4

The Vampire Diaries: Sooooooooooooooooo I used to really enjoy long distance buddy watching this one with my little sister. She and I would do girly things and text each other while we watched the residents of Mystic Falls battle yet another Big Bad. It was fun for us. But then, this year happened…. UGH!!! The show just completely jumped the shark (honestly that might have happened in season 4) I mean really, how many times can everyone die and be resurrected? And what was this season about even? Basically I gave up and my sis and I will just have to go back to talking about books.

elementary

Elementary: This show is hilarious and smart and touching and awesome. I’ve read many of the original Conan Doyle Holmes stories and while I’m sure purists face palm regularly I think this series does a great job of humanizing Sherlock while maintaining the integrity of his character.

sherlock-bbc

Sherlock: I guess I like Sherlock Holmes shows??? This one is maybe more true to the spirit of the original short stories.

vikings

Vikings: That opening. *Sigh* Guys, if you don’t know what I’m talking about you should go look it up. Better yet, here’s a link!! Pretty much it sets you up for awesome, which fortunately the show is. 🙂

SYFY-LOGO_905

Basically most SyFy channel shows with monsters or aliens or sometimes even Science: Being Human, Defiance, Warehouse 13, Haven.. blah, blah, blah this is kinda a long list. I could burn ALL my brain cells watching the SyFy channel!

Speaking of Science….I’m a pretty big fan of Niel deGrasse Tyson and his series

cosmo

 Cosmos: It’s beautiful and informative and I always love learning from someone who is clearly SO passionately in love with what they teach.

super_hero_by_psyshark-d4ddta0

ALL THE SUPERHERO MOVIES: Ummm, yeah. I know some are better than others but I really, really enjoy going to see them all. “Is for fun.” (That’s a Nacho Libre quote… not quite a super hero, but kinda a hilarious movie.)

 

Yep, yep, yep. Thats my list for this week. I’m not quite as embarrassed as I thought I’d be but I DO feel a bit like a dirty mindless TV zombie (not the awesome Walking Dead kind). Although, sometimes the reading I do isn’t a strictly intelectual mind enriching sport either.

ANYWAY, I want to see your lists!! Maybe leave a link in the comments so I can check them out and we can chit chat?? 

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday. Non-bookish entertainment.

  1. tpolen says:

    Huge fan of The Walking Dead, super hero movies, The Vampire Diaries (my guilty pleasure), The Americans, Justified, Sons of Anarchy, Fargo, and The Black List.

    • lilajune says:

      I haven’t seen The Americans or The Black List though I heard they are fantastic!! I’m glad someone else out there (with obviously good taste) lists TVD as a guilty pleasure!! Did you enjoy this season??? I was having so much fun with the whole series until somewhere in season 4 when Elena turned off her “humanity switch”… but I had hope and then things just crashed for me a bit in season 5. (Maybe I just really miss Klaus , even if I enjoy The Originals).

      • tpolen says:

        Yep – hated the whole humanity switch plot line – got a little bored with that. I like The Originals too – how can you not like Klaus (in spite of all his flaws)?

      • lilajune says:

        His flaws are pretty much WHY you love him!!! He’s like the more awesome version of Damon (I guess I liked serial killer bad boy Damon in season 1-2 a little better than this Stephen with dark hair version…)

  2. mrshbookworm says:

    I’m very much of the mind that TV and film can be read like a text so can be seen as an intellectual pursuit at times. I think you have a great list here!

    • lilajune says:

      Hahaha thanks! I am one of those that generally enjoys book movies. Even if they aren’t perfect (which is of course, subjective anyway) I think they can contribute a lot to the written story. And of course some shows and movies are amazing examples of story telling genius whereas some books are trashy. So you’re right, there is undoubtedly, a balance to be found between reading and viewing. Thanks for the wisdom and for stopping by!!

  3. caitlinstern says:

    I haven’t seen Sherlock, one Holmes show being enough–though I do love to read Holmes-style detective books, and I have admired Holmesian characters like House. But I quite enjoy how Elementary’s Watson is a little less tolerant of Holmes’ BS. Because really… he can be a jerk.

    • lilajune says:

      Yes, yes he can. And I agree with you that this version of Watson is much more likable! I appreciate the fact that Elementary seems to be exploring the idea that Sherlock most likely falls somewhere on the Autistic scale. I think it’s certainly something you could pull from the books and it makes his struggles to connect a bit more understandable.
      (I like House too…)

  4. lynnsbooks says:

    This is a great list. I forgot about The Walking Dead until after I’d posted! In fairness though I’ve only watched two. Haven’t seen the Vikings – will definitely have to check that out!
    Ta
    Lynn 😀

    • lilajune says:

      Oh The Walking Dead is so amazing!! Truly it is one of the best shows out there right now (so long as you don’t mind a zombie or two or two million) you should definitely watch the rest if you’ve got time.
      Vikings is wonderful!! Though it makes me a little jealous that I’m not an awesome worrier shield maiden….

  5. Caroline S. says:

    I completely agree with you about Vampire Diaries – the CW is basically full of my guilty pleasures (all of which my husband makes fun of me for). And I need to finish Sherlock! I watched the first two episodes on Netflix, but just haven’t gotten around to finishing it. Just started Dexter though, it’s really good!

    • lilajune says:

      I know, right! When I started watching CW again after years and years of avoiding it I was practically ashamed to leave my house… But they’ve got some great shows for YA/scifi/fantasy/speculative fiction loving people like us!! (If you can get over the fact that all those 30 something’s are supposed to be “teenagers”…. Though that makes ME feel less dirty about thinking they are attractive 😉 )

      • Caroline S. says:

        haha, I completely agree! My to add to Vampire Diaries I shamefully watch Star Crossed and The 100 too. Though I discovered recently that my dad was watching The 100 as well, so I don’t feel as bad about it anymore.

  6. I totally agree with you about TVD! This season was so BORING and I didn’t even understand the point of it. It was just literally Damon and Elena fighting and getting back together every other episode, and I was so bored by the stuff with Enzo. A huge letdown after all the Originals stuff that was really exciting the past few seasons!

    My TTT

    • lilajune says:

      As much as I loved the show it maybe should have ended when the Originals left… Apparently they just couldn’t come up with a bad guy badder (and more complex) than Klaus. Also, shipping wars aside I’ve got to tell you I think Elena’s character has seriously digressed. She was never the most exciting character but I used to appreciate her for not being a brat… Which, seems to have disintegrated these past two seasons.

  7. We have pretty similar tastes. I like the Song of Fire and Ice series so much I’ve been afraid to see the show and I’ve never seen the Walking Dead, zombies give me nightmares too! I love the recent trend in super hero movies! I can’t wait for Avengers 2!

    • lilajune says:

      I’m always a little wary of book to TV or Movie conversions (I’m usually forgiving too) but I really love the GoT series and I think the show did a great job maintaining it’s integrity. I don’t know about you but I didn’t start to “feel” for some of the Lannisters until after the first book but in the show you see their humanity right away (even if they are still deliciously evil).
      I’m SUPER excited for Avengers 2!!!! I will certainly be there brandishing my super hero cape at midnight on opening night!

      • I loved Tyrion from the start, but I didn’t like Jamie until he got his own point of view. Cercei… nope I can’t stand her still.

        Me too!

      • lilajune says:

        I was exactly like you!! And while I hated Cercei I did start to understand what was motivating her to be evil (I wouldn’t call it sympathizing but her character no longer seemed one dimensional to me) in the show that happens much more quickly.
        Quite frankly, in the show her brand of evil is HIGHLY entertaining (unlike Joffrey who is still demonic) I would actually miss her if she died…

  8. I am still shocked with myself that I haven’t started watching Sherlock yet. It just seems like something I would absolutely adore. Great list this week!

  9. I’ve never watched TWD, but I’ve just started reading the comics and once I’ve read several volumes, I want to start watching the show. Everyone says it’s just incredible. I also want to watch Hannibal. I’ve heard good things about that one. I’ve watched the first 4 seasons of TVD, but not the most recent one. It’s not good? That sucks.

  10. Ashley says:

    Excellent list, per usual. I know what you mean, I felt pretty pathetic listing all my favorite TV shows. But, I totally forgot about The Walking Dead for my Sci-Fi/Fantasy list!

    I love Elementary as well. Johnny Lee Miller’s mannerisms are perfect for Sherlock, but interestingly enough I haven’t watched Sherlock yet but it’s on my list. I also want to watch Vikings, because it looks awesome and I’ve heard great things about it, but can’t remember what channel it’s on!

    I just want to gush about the Syfy channel. *GUSH* Have you seen any of the Helix episodes? Super creepy but really interesting.

    • lilajune says:

      Ummmmm we can ABSOLUTELY gush about SyFy!! I’m kinda sorry I missed that tweet 😉 I love everything about that stupid network!!

      I have seen some of Helix.. I missed a few eppisodes and felt like I needed to go back from the beginning and watch them on demand. Did you ever see Sanctuary? I miss that show!

      I think Vikings is on the History channel, It is really a pretty wonderful show.

      • Ashley says:

        Gush gush gush! I feel like I was asleep for a while and it went from a terrible network to my strange addiction overnight. I was a little sad they didn’t acknowledge it, but they are working on bigger and better things 🙂

        I haven’t finished Helix either, so we’ll have to catch up together! I feel like Sanctuary sounds familiar, but no I’ve never seen it.

        Oh good! I thought it was on a premium channel. At least I can record old episodes!

  11. deliabattie says:

    There’s no shame in loving The Walking Dead; it’s a perfect TV programme! I thought I hated zombies too until I started watching it. 😉

  12. acps927 says:

    I really need to watch Sherlock! And I don’t watch Elementary, but I love Johnny Lee Miller solely based on his performance as Knightley in the 2009 BBC Emma mini-series.

    • lilajune says:

      Yes. Johnny Lee Miller is amazing. He gives me all the actorly feels! His portrayal of Holmes brings forth a side of that character I had never considered. But somehow it seems totally realistic…and human.

  13. kainzow says:

    I really like Elementary! I though I wouldn’t but I was enticed by the intelligence with which the script was written.
    My favourite episode has to be in season 1 where a man kills his wife and pushes a woman onto a railway,because of a video his wife once recorded.It was so complex,but at the same time,so fascinating!

    • lilajune says:

      Oh that was a wonderful episode! You’re right it was very complex. I think my favorite might have been the one where he names the new species of bee after Watson. I know that might be a little cheesy but part of what I like about the show is that they’ve made me think of this classical titan of a character in a bit more human way…

  14. Yo. How could you not have watched any (or much) television when you were younger? That was like the golden age of so many great shows.

    Maybe Zombies are misunderstood (see: Warm Bodies). Not sure about the books…but what a hilarious movie. At least I think so–and that holds some street cred, right?! I remember in university when me and my buddies went out we’d often somehow find our way back to the conversation of: “okay, zombie apocalypse. survival strategy discussions. go.”

    I wish someone freaking told me to be skeptical upon watching GoT. Like, for real. I went in with no knowledge of what it was going to be about. Hand gifted my heart to some chacterac—NOPE. I hate this show. I love this show. I don’t even know. (except I do know that I think Sansa is the most useless character every LOLOL)

    The one thing I appreciate the most about TVD is it’s impeccable choices of music that has seemingly expanded my music library for the better. Like, they should give the music directors a raise for somehow always finding a new (or old) song from popular/indie artists in setting the mood of the scenes. This is the most consistent aspect of TVD, in my opinion, and if only their deaths stayed consistent then shit what a rad show (even if it’s everything paranormal).

    okay this is starting to get ranty now. okbye.

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

Leave a Reply

