What the heck happened to LilaJune. (And of course BOOKS!)

IMG_5627

Hello, hello bloggers and bookworms alike!

I feel a little guilty for falling off the face of the blog world and failing in my duties as a consistent blogger and more importantly (to me at least) an active and supportive blog friend to some of the amazing blogs I follow!

 Here’s what happened: I started medical school.

 Turns out, the rumors are true and it really IS the hardest thing I’ve ever done (thus far). I guess that’s good right? I mean you WANT your doctor to know her stuff (though at the moment I have come to the terrifying realization that I know ABSOLUTELY NOTHING about ANYTHING. EVER) I guess it would be a little frightening if med school was “easy” yeah? Well never fear, I can assure you it’s not! 😉

 Seriously y’all…..gross anatomy (ie: Cadaver Lab) is just….well….lets just say it requires every last ounce of my Erudite AND Dauntless skillzzzz.

 Anyway enough about that, while I am currently on a self imposed internet/pleasure reading hiatus I DO plan to come back at some point (once I figure out what the heck I’m doing…please god PLEASE let that be sometime soon!) and in the meantime I wanted to share with you a few of the books I had a chance to read over the summer but didn’t manage to blog about.

 At some point (hopefully in the not too distant future) I will write up more complex discussions on these treasures. But for now here are a few mini reviews of my summer reads!

 

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe.

9781442408920_p0_v5_s260x420

This.

Book.

Oh my gosh.

This book DID something to me. I can’t even describe what I felt like while I was reading it…Some odd combination of heartbroken and born again on every single page. Guys, I kid you not, this book read like music. You know that feeling you get when you are carried away by the haunting notes of violin? That was how I felt. I can’t remember a book ever making me feel quite like that before….it was truly extraordinary.

So basically…you should read it.

 The Marbury Lens and Passenger

3jacks

So, I read Grasshopper Jungle and thought Well that was awesome. Lets see what else this guy can do. Turns out, Smith is just all round pretty amazing. The Marbury series was a perfect mix of supernatural/SciFi adventure meets a HOLY HELL this shit just got REAL coming of age story. They were pretty incredible and also deeply disturbing. I loved them.

Winger

winger

What can I say…I was on an Andrew Smith kick. In all seriousness though he is a truly unique and extraordinary author. Winger is a little different in that it SEEMS less dark and deep compared to Grasshopper Jungle and The Marbury Lens series. And in many way it is, except well…Winger is one of those books that lulls you into believing you are reading one type of story and then hits you over the head with a whale sized frying pan and suddenly you realize that the “real” story has been happening all along. It’s also dirty, innocent, honorable and sacrilegious in a way that only Andrew Smith can write.

 A Discovery of Witches, Shadow of Night and The Book of Life.

all-souls-trilogy-deborah-harkness

I HATED the first oh…maybe HALF of the first book. Truly it almost became my first DNF of the year… It was maybe a weeeeeeeeeee bit too reminiscent of Twilight for about a minute there (a really Looooonnnng minute where I was all “is this shit for real?!?!?! Lady you are 33! Stop the teen romance crap!) and then suddenly without warning…BOOM!! I was in love with them (SEE Insta-love is for real y’all!!!). I think the second book (where they spend a lot of time in a SUPER well written/researched version of Elizabethan England) really sod it for me. Also BOTH the “overprotective-vampire” character and the “Super-smart-not-totally-comfortable-with-herself-but-very-powerful-witch” heroine really grow and change. I do so love character development.

Ok…and romance…sometimes I just like a good romance.

ALSO, I kinda loved that the 30 somethings got a chance to be kickass and save the world with their awesome superpowers for once.. It’s nice to be reminded that life does not end at 20. (THANK HEAVENS!!!!)

These Broken Stars.

13138635

So I really, really loved that this book stood on it’s own. Sure I’d always love to have just a teeny tiny bit more of any story but at the end of the day it’s nice when a book feels finished. The other thing I appreciated about this book was that I thought I was reading a nice fluffy little romance until all of a sudden I found myself having deep conversations about the nature of life and death with my husband (and anyone else who would listen). There are some really tough (and fascinating) questions asked in this relatively simple science fiction/romance story and for that reason alone I’ve added it to my list of favorites.

 The Seven Realms Series.

the-seven-realms-series

I DEVOURED this series over the course of a week while on vacation with my family in North Carolina. These books are classically awesome examples of fantasy. I’ve heard them called “Game of Thrones light” and while that is certainly not an unfair label (considering all the politics and the fantasy setting) they are more comparable to Robin McKinley’s The Hero and the Crown (a personal favorite). In other words, there is a STRONG female lead and a great story to carry you through the series and I would highly recommend them to anyone who loves a good fantasy series.

 

Right, well…I haven’t actually put much of a dent in my Books I Read and Loved list but I’m beginning to feel guilty for not studying my histology… Turns out I really NEED to be able to tell the difference between a  Mast Cell and Basophil by monday.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Ugh.

So I think I’ll leave you for now and beg your forgiveness for being a crappy blogger.

Hopefully I’ll be back in the not too distant future to chat about books once more…There is a whole LIST of books I am just dying to read that are coming out in the next few months!!!

Have the loveliest of weekends everyone, happy reading!!! (I’m really trying not to be jealous…trying and failing).

images  

^ This is a totally accurate dipiction of a first year medical student . 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to What the heck happened to LilaJune. (And of course BOOKS!)

  1. All the best for med school ! 🙂 Thankfully I have left slides and microscopes behind so I’ll just gloat about that now 😀

  2. Caroline S. says:

    Good to have you back! And I thought grad school sucked, I can’t even imagine med school! Good for you though, that’s legit. And now I’m going to goodreads to look all these book up! Besides the witches series, because I just finished all those, and I loved them!

    • lilajune says:

      I actually read the witches series because you recommended them!! I was iffy at first but book 2 & 3 were fantastic!!! I really enjoyed the historical aspect of book 2 and I like how much the characters and the community grew in book 3 🙂
      I also thought the author did an interesting thing with the typical “vampire’s are possessive” schtick by adding the layer of Blood Rage… and of course….in the end I was all swooney over their romance 😉
      So thanks for the recommendation!!!!!!!!! (and for stopping by! I hope to be a bit more active as I figure out how NOT to fail : ) )

      • Caroline S. says:

        I’m glad me recommendation paid off! Ya, I thought she did well with the vampire attitude, especially comparing them to wolf packs, and like you said, Matthew was worse b/c of the blood rage. I’m with you though, the second one was my favorite!

  3. Mei-Mei says:

    I’m excited to look into these 🙂 I’m currently plowing through the wonderful Legend series, thanks to your recommendation.
    Best of luck with med school. I work at a medical school (research), so I have some idea of what your life will be like lol. I hope you’ll have at least a little time for “fun” reading!

    • lilajune says:

      Oh my gosh you started Legend!!!!!!!!!!!!! You’ll have to let me know what you think!! Maybe drop me a link to your review (If you do one???)
      I know this is ridiculous but that actually made my day 😉

      Anyway… you should definitely check out some of these books (Andrew Smith might be my new favorite author) and then please let me know what you think!!

      I didn’t realize you worked in research!! WOW! Thats awesome! (and tough… I have almost zero lab skills…so I have insane respect for those of you who do!)

      And yeah…fun reading…well… Marie Lu’s next book is out in Oct (i think) and Andrew Smith’s came out this week! So I’ve got those on my list to squeeze in between exams 🙂

  4. Anne says:

    “I kinda loved that the 30 somethings got a chance to be kickass and save the world with their awesome superpowers for once.. It’s nice to be reminded that life does not end at 20.”

    Haha, yesssss! Also, I just read Daughter of the Forest, and sometimes romance is a nice change of pace. I’ll have to look into Discovery of Witches!

    And,of course, woot woot to medical school!

  5. Hey LilaJune – I know this is a bit random, but I was reading the Outlook section of the Washington Post today and at the end of a review for three different books about the medical field, the reviewer said she would recommend “Internal Medicine” by Terrence Holt to her “first-year medical students who are worried about losing their empathy.” Now this is by no means a suggestion that that is something you are worried about – more it made me think of you and I wanted to share (in case you were starting to build up a medical library too!). Hope all is well!!

    • lilajune says:

      Hahahaha it IS something I’m worried about actually… So super duper thanks for the suggestion!!!! I’ll definitely read it 🙂

      Med school is so intensive and you DO have to grow a thicker skin just to deal with all the craziness and stress.. So I can absolutely see why so many are concerned about it 🙂

      Thank you for thinking of me btw!!! Really made my day 🙂

Leave a Reply

